Our History

Over the past few decades, a tremendous industrial development has taken place in Khadki-Akurdi area and Christians from many parts of India have come to work here.  For them, All Saints’ is the nearest Church and most convenient since it is located near Khadki Railway Station and also by the side of the Pune-Mumbai highway.  The atmosphere here is refreshing and spiritually uplifting.

We are thankful to God for the beautiful church building He has given us to worship in.  It is our firm belief that the Church is primarily the people of God who gather Sunday after Sunday in a convenient place to offer to God their praise and thanksgiving, to hear the Word of God being expounded, derive strength and inspiration from participating in the Holy Communion, and to enjoy and be encouraged by the Christian fellowship with other members of Christ’s Body.


It would be appropriate to give you some historical information about All Saints’ Church. Khadki, (formerly ‘Kirkee’) was an important military centre of the British.  For the sake of the British soldiers, this Church was built on government land by British soldiers and officers.  The Governor and important military officers including C-in-C of Southern Command used to worship here.   You will also find the colours of some military units still kept in the Church.  After Independence in 1947, the Defence Department of the Government of India ceased to have responsibility for garrison churches.  These became vested in the Indian Church Trustees, and The Bombay Diocesan Trust Association (P) Limited were appointed as the managers who are in charge of the property and its major maintenance, till date.  An important change came about in 1970 when the Anglican Church in India, known as ‘The Church of India, Pakistan and Ceylon’ became part of the ‘Church of North India’ which was inaugurated on 29th November 1970 at Nagpur. Six different Protestant denominations joined together to form the Church of North India.

These were :

  • The Church of India, Pakistan and Ceylon (Anglican tradition)
  • The United Church of Northern India (Presbyterian tradition)
  • The Methodist Church (British and Australian conferences)
  • The Disciples Church of Christ
  • The Church of the Brethren
  • Baptist Churches of North India.